About Mauritius



Mauritius has a population of 1.2 million people and most of the inhabitants constitute descendants of immigrants principally of Indian, African, European, and Chinese origin. Its blend of cultures creates a unique environment of multicultural community. Most Mauritians are bilingual. Whilst English is the official language, French and Creole are widely spoken daily. There are also many oriental languages such as Hindi, Mandarin and Urdu spoken and taught at school.

Political Structure

The Republic of Mauritius is a politically stable country, having a democratic system of government since its independence in 1968, with an elected government every five years. It has a system of parliamentary democracy which ensures the separation of powers between the executive, legislative and judiciary. Whilst the President is the Head of State, full executive power rests with the Prime Minister who is the head of Government of the Republic of Mauritius. His constitutional power allows him to advise the President to appoint or remove Ministers, otherwise, the Members of Parliament are elected every five years by popular vote.

Legal System

The legal system of Mauritius combines both civil and common law and the right of appeal to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in England is preserved. The ultimate court of appeal is the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in England.
During the period of French rule, the island’s legal system was governed by the French Napoleonic Code. While private law is largely based on the Napoleonic Code, public and administrative law draws essentially from English common law.